Enriching the Lives of Future Journalists

I never thought you could win a Pulitzer just for quoting Tommy Lasorda correctly.
-Jim Murray

The Jim Murray Memorial Foundation (JMMF) became an official California 501 (c)(3) Nonprofit Corporation on May 17, 1999, to perpetuate Jim Murray’s legacy and his love for and dedication to his extraordinary career in journalism.

The Foundation’s goal is to raise funds throughout the year to provide scholarships for second and third year undergraduate journalism students. The JMMF coordinates a nationwide essay competition, with winners decided by a panel of nationally known journalists. The greater the success of the JMMF's fund-raising events, the more financial support it will provide for talented students.

Initially, the top 15 journalism schools in the nation were invited to participate in the student essay competition, as well as the schools attended by the Foundation’s Board members. The number of participating schools has grown to 32 over the last 15 years.

*Financial need gives no special claim to a Murray Scholarship. No student shall be qualified or disqualified on account of race or religious opinions.

Who is eligible?

To qualify for a JMMF scholarship, each student must be a second or third year undergraduate accepted into his/her university’s School of Journalism. Each student must have at least a “B” GPA. An essay of 1,000 words, and no less than 750 words, on a pre-selected sports topic is pre-screened by each journalism department, and subsequently judged by a panel of national writers. The Murray Scholars are recognized each year at the JMMF awards dinner in southern California.

Students may not submit directly to the JMMF.  All essays must be screened and selected by their school.  Contact your journalism department for more information.

A photo by Florian Klauer. unsplash.com/photos/mk7D-4UCfmg


Sponsoring A Scholarship

The Jim Murray Memorial Foundation’s “Five-for-Five” patron” grant was established to secure underwriting for five (5) $5,000 journalism scholarships for a period of five years.  The grant is payable in a one-lump sum, or in $5,000 increments over a period of five years.

Past “Five-for-Five” patrons are The McCormick Tribune Foundation, the St. Louis Rams and NFL Charities, Inc., and American Honda Motor Company, Inc.  Current “Five-for-Five” patrons are Susan A. Osborne and Stephen Soboroff.

Other major donors to the JMMF are The Conrad N. Hilton Foundation, The H. N. and Frances C. Berger Foundation, the Weingart Foundation, The Morris A. Hazen Family Foundation, CV Strategies, Inc., ESPN, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim Baseball, Los Angeles Lakers Youth Foundation, The Los Angeles Kings, Los Angeles Dodgers Dream Foundation, Peter Ueberroth Family Foundation, and generous individual gifts from Peter O’Malley, Jack and Barbara Nicklaus, Linda and Dave Hofmans, and the giants of auto racing, Mario Andretti, Dan Gurney, Parnelli Jones, Danny Sullivan, Greg Penske, Dan Luginbuhl, Steve Earwood and the Auto Club Speedway.

No matter how small (or large) the donation, every dollar counts. All donations are tax deductible. The JMMF is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization; Federal Tax ID #94-3331025.